Order of candidates listed on Vancouver’s election ballots announced

“Research has shown many voters are more likely to vote for those listed first on a ballot. Candidates at the top of an alphabetical list are perceived to have an advantage over those lower down.”

Article content

A random draw Friday night determined the order of candidates’ names on the ballot to become Vancouver’s next mayor, members of city council, the park and school boards.

Advertisement 2

Article content

The 2022 election will be the second consecutive to list names in random order, ensuring a more equal playing field for candidates. Previously, candidates’ names were listed in alphabetical order by their surnames.

Article content

“Research has shown many voters are more likely to vote for those listed first on a ballot. Candidates at the top of an alphabetical list are perceived to have an advantage over those lower down,” the city said in a statement Friday.

“Voters are encouraged to familiarize themselves with the candidates’ list and share with fellow voters so as many people as possible are prepared to vote with confidence.”

New to the 2022 election ballots this year is a number listed alongside each of the candidates’ names to help voters remember their order and a note if the candidate lives outside of Vancouver.

Advertisement 3

Article content

This election also has a large inclusion of candidates using non-Latin character names. In the past two municipal elections in Vancouver, only two candidates were permitted to use non-Latin characters on the ballot.

Those who have added Chinese characters and Persian script names this election include nine of the 16 Non-Partisan Association candidates and individual candidates from COPE, Forward Together, OneCity and Vision Vancouver.

The first mayoral candidate name voters will see when filling out their ballot form is Satwant Shottha, who is running as an independent.

Listed second will be Incumbent mayor Kennedy Stewart, Colleen Hardwick with TEAM For A Livable Vancouver is listed fourth, Fred Harding of the Non-Partisan Association is ninth, Ken Sim of ABC Vancouver is 14th and Mark Marissen of Progress Vancouver is last as 15th.

Advertisement 4

Article content

Candidates for Mayor

50 SHOTTHA, Satwant
51 STEWART, Kennedy (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
52 POPAT, Imtiaz
53 HARDWICK, Colleen (TEAM)
54 BROWN, Leona
55 RAUNET, Françoise
56 VILLEGAS, Lewis
57 CHAN, Ping
58 HARDING, Fred 傅爱德 (NPA)
59 HANSEN, Mike
61 BUDAY, Gölök Z
62 TETI, Dante
63 SIM, Ken (ABC Vancouver)
64 MARISSEN, Mark (Progress Vancouver)

Candidates for City Councillor

100 NARDI, Sean (TEAM)
102 HAYER, Asha (Progress Vancouver)
103 MONTAGUE, Brian (ABC Vancouver) North Vancouver
104 ANDERSON, Dulcy (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
105 TRUONG, Tesicca 張慈櫻, Trương Từ Anh (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
106 DENOFRIO, Dominic
108 ORR, Sean (VOTE Socialist)
109 MACKINNON, Stuart (Vision Vancouver)
110 VARGAS, Lina
111 SINGH, Alvin (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
112 BONAMIS, Iona 陶思穎 (OneCity)
113 KIRBY-YUNG, Sarah (ABC Vancouver)
114 WIEBE, Michael (GREEN)
115 FOX, Amy “Evil Genius”
116 DE GENOVA, Melissa 鄭慧蘭 (NPA)
117 HE, May (Progress Vancouver)
118 WEBKING, Tanya (COPE)
119 ZHOU, Lenny (ABC Vancouver)
120 PEACOCK, Amie
121 OGER, Morgane (Progress Vancouver)
122 CARR, Adriane (GREEN)
123 FRANSON, Marlo
124 ALM, K R
125 NORRIS, Matthew (OneCity)
126 MEISZNER, Peter (ABC Vancouver)
127 BROWN, Cleta (TEAM)
128 SINGH, Devyani (GREEN)
129 BOLDT, Lesli (Vision Vancouver)
130 REDMOND, Eric (Affordable Housing Coalition)
131 DOMINATO, Lisa (ABC Vancouver)
132 KLASSEN, Mike (ABC Vancouver)
133 BOWEN, Mark
134 BHAYANI, Cinnamon 芯娜萌 雅妮 (NPA)
135 ROBERTS, Stephen P (TEAM)
136 SWANSON, Jean (COPE)
137 CROMWELL, Ian (OneCity)
138 CHARKO, Ken 肯·查克 (NPA)
139 BOYLE, Christine (OneCity)
140 PHILBERT, Kyra
141 SMITH, Stephanie (GREEN)
142 FRANCIS, Mauro (Progress Vancouver)
143 QUAN, Grace (TEAM)
144 NIJJAR, Param (TEAM)
145 ALLAN, Elaine 伊艾倫 (NPA)
146 ASHE, Jeanette (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
148 BLIGH, Rebecca (ABC Vancouver)
149 BROWN, Hilary (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
150 ZARRABIAN, Arezo 蘇勵安 (NPA)
151 FRY, Pete (GREEN)
152 LÝ, Tim
153 MACKENZIE, Jeremy
154 BARZEGARI, Honieh هانیه برزگری (Vision Vancouver)
155 WVONG, Russil (Forward with Kennedy Stewart)
156 CHIN, David (Progress Vancouver)
157 ROSA, Marie Noelle (Progress Vancouver)
158 LEE, Morning 李會民 (NPA)

Advertisement 5

Article content

Candidates for Park Board commissioner

200 JENSEN, Scott (ABC Vancouver)
203 DIGBY, Tom (GREEN)
204 FRENKEL, Carla (Vision Vancouver)
205 UPTON, Jason (NPA) UBC
206 PINOCHET-ESCUDERO, Andrea (VOTE Socialist)
208 BARKER, Tricia (TEAM)
209 STOCKWELL, Caitlin (OneCity)
210 HOWARD, Marie-Claire (ABC Vancouver)
211 RollerGirl
212 IRWIN, John (Vision Vancouver)
213 JACKSON, Serena (OneCity)
214 CHRISTENSEN, Laura (ABC Vancouver)
215 RILEY, Tricia (GREEN)
216 VIRDI, Jas (ABC Vancouver)
217 HASSAN, Maira (COPE) UBC
218 MENARD, Liam Murphy
219 SEPTEMBER, Dehara (NPA)
220 ZARUDINA, Olga (NPA)
221 KIMURA, Kumi (TEAM) Richmond
222 LARSEN, Kathleen (TEAM)
223 MOLLINEAUX, Michelle (TEAM)
224 PASIN, Dave 戴夫·帕辛 (NPA)
225 BUCKSHON, James (TEAM)
226 RIVERS, Tiyaltelut Kristen (OneCity) West Vancouver
227 AUDLEY, Patrick (TEAM)
228 BASTYOVANSZKY, Brennan (ABC Vancouver)
229 HAER, Angela Kate (ABC Vancouver)
230 SMITH, Tracy D
231 CRAIG, Steven

Advertisement 6

Article content

Candidates for School Board trustee

300 RICHARDSON, Christopher JK (ABC Vancouver)
301 FEDORA, Aaron (NPA)
303 THOMSON, Hilary (Vision Vancouver)
304 MAH, Suzie 馬陳小珠 (COPE)
305 TENGCO, Amanda
306 LEUNG, Aaron (Vision Vancouver)
307 ZEIDLER, Karina (VOTE Socialist)
308 HOPKINS, Heming
309 LITZCKE, Karin
310 TRIGUEROS, Rocco (COPE) Burnaby
311 AGGARWAL, Rahul 羅家衛 (NPA)
312 MCARTHUR, Kera (Vision Vancouver)
313 CHIEN, Alfred (ABC Vancouver)
314 FARIDKOT, Preeti (ABC Vancouver)
315 FRASER, Janet (GREEN)
316 JUNG, Victoria (ABC Vancouver)
317 SIGURDSON, Krista (OneCity)
318 EPSTEIN, Kyla (OneCity)
319 VAUGHAN, Ashley (NPA)
320 REDDY, Jennifer (OneCity)
321 GOODINE, Nadine C (NPA)
322 SOMERS, Gavin (OneCity)
323 BROWN, Rory (OneCity)
324 LEVINE, Zelda
325 KLJAJIC, Milan 夏•米男 (NPA)
326 CARDWELL, Steve (Vision Vancouver)
328 ZHANG, Josh (ABC Vancouver)
329 WONG, Allan 黃偉倫 (Vision Vancouver)
330 ALAM, Matiul (TEAM)

For the 2022 civic election, there will be a total of 137 names listed on the ballot, 21 fewer names than in 2018. Of them, Vancouver voters will select one mayor, 10 city councillors, seven Park Board commissioners and nine School Board trustees.

Voters will be able to cast their ballot from any of the city’s 82 polling stations on Oct. 15, from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

[email protected]


    Advertisement 1


Postmedia is committed to maintaining a lively but civil forum for discussion and encourage all readers to share their views on our articles. Comments may take up to an hour for moderation before appearing on the site. We ask you to keep your comments relevant and respectful. We have enabled email notifications—you will now receive an email if you receive a reply to your comment, there is an update to a comment thread you follow or if a user you follow comments. Visit our Community Guidelines for more information and details on how to adjust your email settings.

Leave a comment

SMM Panel PDF Kitap indir