Nobel panel to announce winner of literature prize

STOCKHOLM (AP) — The winner of the Nobel Prize in literature will be declared Thursday at the Swedish Academy in Stockholm.

Whilst the receiver is notoriously unpredictable, 1 clear contender is Salman Rushdie, the India-born author and absolutely free-speech advocate who spent yrs in hiding right after Iran’s clerical rulers identified as for his demise above his 1988 novel “The Satanic Verses.” Rushdie, 75, was stabbed and seriously wounded in August at a festival in New York state.

Other attainable winners consist of literary giants from all-around the entire world: Kenyan author Ngugi Wa Thiong’o, Japan’s Haruki Murakami, Norway’s Jon Fosse, Antigua-born Jamaica Kincaid and France’s Annie Ernaux.

Final yr&#8217s prize went to the Tanzanian-born, U.K.-primarily based author Abdulrazak Gurnah, whose novels take a look at the affect of migration on folks and societies.

Gurnah was only the sixth Nobel literature laureate born in Africa, and the prize has extended confronted criticism that it is too concentrated on European and North American writers. It is also male-dominated, with just 16 gals amid its 118 laureates.

The prizes to Gurnah in 2021 and U.S. poet Louise Glück in 2020 aided the literature prize transfer on from a long time of controversy and scandal.

In 2018, the award was postponed following intercourse abuse allegations rocked the Swedish Academy, which names the Nobel literature committee, and sparked an exodus of customers. The academy revamped by itself but faced extra criticism for offering the 2019 literature award to Austria’s Peter Handke, who has been termed an apologist for Serbian war crimes.

A week of Nobel Prize announcements kicked off Monday with Swedish scientist Svante Paabo getting the award in medication for unlocking insider secrets of Neanderthal DNA that presented important insights into our immune system.

Three scientists jointly gained the prize in physics Tuesday. Frenchman Alain Part, American John F. Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger had proven that very small particles can retain a connection with every single other even when separated, a phenomenon acknowledged as quantum entanglement, that can be used for specialised computing and to encrypt data.

The Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded Wednesday to Americans Carolyn R. Bertozzi and K. Barry Sharpless, and Danish scientist Morten Meldal for creating a way of “snapping molecules together” that can be utilized to check out cells, map DNA and structure drugs that can target diseases these types of as cancer much more precisely.

The 2022 Nobel Peace Prize will be declared on Friday and the economics award on Monday.

The prizes carry a income award of 10 million Swedish kronor (virtually $900,000) and will be handed out on Dec. 10. The funds comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, in 1895.


Adhere to all AP tales about the Nobel Prizes at

The Affiliated Push

Leave a comment

SMM Panel PDF Kitap indir